

Office of the Secretary Washington, DC 20250

August 17, 2023

THE HONORABLE KATHY HOCHUL Governor State of New York State Capitol Albany, New York 12224

#### Dear Governor Hochul:

On June 14, 2023, the Northeastern Association of State Departments of Agriculture, requested a primary county disaster designation for 31 counties in New York, due to damage and losses caused by freeze and frost that occurred from May 14, 2023, through May 25, 2023.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and determined that there were sufficient production losses to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation; therefore, I am designating all 31 New York counties as primary natural disaster areas. In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

THOMAS J. VILSACK Secretary

Enclosure

# THE HONORABLE HOCHUL PAGE 2

## **Primary Counties:**

| New York    | (31)        |             |
|-------------|-------------|-------------|
| Albany      | Onondaga    | Schuyler    |
| Broome      | Ontario     | Seneca      |
| Cattaraugus | Orleans     | Steuben     |
| Cayuga      | Oswego      | Tioga       |
| Chautauqua  | Otsego      | Tompkins    |
| Chemung     | Putnam      | Ulster      |
| Columbia    | Rensselaer  | Washington  |
| Cortland    | Saratoga    | Wayne       |
| Dutchess    | Schenectady | Westchester |
| Greene      | Schoharie   | Yates       |
| Jefferson   |             |             |

#### **Contiguous Counties:**

| New York | (24)       |            |              |
|----------|------------|------------|--------------|
| Allegany | Fulton     | Madison    | Orange       |
| Bronx    | Genesee    | Monroe     | Rockland     |
| Chenango | Hamilton   | Montgomery | St. Lawrence |
| Delaware | Herkimer   | Nassau     | Sullivan     |
| Erie     | Lewis      | Niagara    | Warren       |
| Essex    | Livingston | Oneida     | Wyoming      |

## **Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States:**

| <b>Connecticut</b> Fairfield | (2)<br>Litchfield |
|------------------------------|-------------------|
| Massachusetts<br>Berkshire   | (1)               |
| New Jersey<br>Bergen         | (1)               |

| Pennsylvania | (8)    |             |        |
|--------------|--------|-------------|--------|
| Bradford     | McKean | Susquehanna | Warren |
| Erie         | Potter | Tioga       | Wayne  |

| Vermont | (3)        |         |
|---------|------------|---------|
| Addison | Bennington | Rutland |